As a driver you want to be aware of the motor vehicle laws and regulations across the country. Not doing so can leave you with hefty fines or even jail time. The state of Georgia places emphasis on the importance of car insurance, and doesn’t let motorists drive without it.
Let’s talk about the car insurance laws in Georgia and the penalties of not having the minimum coverage.
What Are the Car Insurance Laws in Georgia?
Georgia law states that motorists need the minimum insurance to be able to operate a vehicle in the state. It’s required for drivers to have a specific amount of liability insurance in case of an accident. The breakdown is:
- $25,000 in physical injury coverage per individual
- $50,000 in physical injury coverage per collision
- $25,000 in property damage coverage per collision
It’s also mandatory for motorists to carry proof of insurance on them when they’re driving. If you’re in an accident or get pulled over the authorities may ask you for your proof of insurance. Not having it on hand may result in a fine. You can also carry an electronic proof of insurance.
What Are the Penalties for Driving in Georgia Without Insurance?
If you drive in Georgia without insurance you may face a misdemeanor charge or a $1,000 fine. If you commit the offense one time, you’ll lose your license for 60 days, and for repeat offenses, you may lose it for at least 90 days, or even face jail time.
What’s even more serious is that drivers who are penalized aren’t allowed to drive during the suspension period. Only after the mandated time and paying a $200 fine will you be able to get your license back. If you are a repeat offender, you will have to pay $300 for getting your license reinstated.
Most states that place an emphasis on car insurance are rather lenient, and they allow you to get your license back if you produce proof of insurance soon after the offense. However, Georgia doesn’t give you this liberty. Once you lose your license for not having car insurance, you will need to get an SR-22 certificate, which will verify that you qualify for the minimum liability insurance requirement. Not only does it stay on your record for three years, but also causes you to receive higher insurance rates from brokers and service providers.
When it comes to car insurance, you should always be cautious and prioritize it, because not only will it save you from financial burden after an accident, but will also help you stay protected.